NO KM/MPH Digital Display When Driving ?? - 2015 Mini Cooper Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 10-16-2014, 05:27 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
hotrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
NO KM/MPH Digital Display When Driving ??

Hi all, waited since June for my new F56, received it today...love it
This is my third Mini in six years!!!.....on a test drive in June of a 2014 cuz 2015 were not out yet, I asked the salesperson if the KM/MPH digital could be displayed like my other Mini's...sure he said....so he pushed a button and up came the digital display of the KM / hr as I was driving. The gauge also has permanent display in Analog form......so today when I received my car, they went over everything me. I knew I had another question there before I left.....so I could not remember at the exact time...information overload.....then I left and drove away. I got a coffee down the road and while driving I told not see what my current exact speed was. Only in the analog form.....so I then drove back to the dealer...asked my delivery specialist the question....she played around with my settings....after 5 min. She gave up...We tried together the "BC" button....all that came up was the Engine Temp.....then she called the sales manager who was my initial salesperson before he was promoted....he was the one that showed it to me on the demo...he still says that it came be done. He then tried all sorts of things. No help...so he tells me that the car has to go to service and reprogrammed to have the digital KM displayed.....I said I didn't have the time right now, but if they could look into it, and get back to me with a fix, I would appreciate it...no problem....so here is the answer....in Canada if you order the Essentials Package which includes Heated Seats and Sun Roof, you loose the Digital KM / hr read out......I said nobody brought this to my attention...I said it is impossible to drive around reading the very small analog numbers, I can't !!!! Who would order and drive a car this way ? Either Iam going to drive to slow or too fast and get a speeding ticket, take your pick. All cars built today from the cheapest to the most expensive ALL have a digital KM / MPH readout display, except me and my car because nobody brought this to my attention. A serious issue.
Anyone facing this issue, and what was the fix...I am told by Corp that this issue can't be done after the car was made....anyone ???? Thanks for your input and time to read my story.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	7594
Size:	121.2 KB
ID:	6746  

Last edited by hotrunner; 10-16-2014 at 05:30 PM.
hotrunner is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 10-16-2014, 08:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Hi Hotrunner! The cars looks beautiful! I can be semi-helpful. When I picked up my car, I didn't have the digital speedometer either. When my husband was driving the car, using his key fob, suddenly it was there. So it is possible. I don't know how or why, but it was there. When I went back to my key fob, it disappeared again and I haven't figured out how to make it reappear. So the good news is it's possible. I just don't know how! (I have the essentials package).

Congratulations on the new wheels and happy driving!
Wheee! is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 10-16-2014, 10:03 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
hotrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wheee! View Post
Hi Hotrunner! The cars looks beautiful! I can be semi-helpful. When I picked up my car, I didn't have the digital speedometer either. When my husband was driving the car, using his key fob, suddenly it was there. So it is possible. I don't know how or why, but it was there. When I went back to my key fob, it disappeared again and I haven't figured out how to make it reappear. So the good news is it's possible. I just don't know how! (I have the essentials package).

Congratulations on the new wheels and happy driving!
Hi Wheee!.......many thanks for your good wishes and valuable input. It is good to know that I am not going crazy. It appears customers like you know a lot more than the info given to me today. I went over my owners manual, and it appears that some software was not fully loaded in my car. It appears that the
"Instr. cluster display" option is not available under "Settings" in order to "Select the desired displays."....the car will have to go back to the dealer for this. I will wait to hear from the dealer before taking it in. They are supposed to get back to with an answer and hopefully it will validate what I have found out as mentioned. Many thanks again, it is really appreciated....!!!!!!!
hotrunner is online now  
 
post #4 of 23 Old 10-17-2014, 02:27 AM
Senior Member
 
kenl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 832
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
I think you can turn this and other functions that can be displayed (e.g. Date, average speed etc.) on and off using the options available for the instrument cluster.

If you have the control wheel down by the handbrake go in using options > settings > .... And find the options to tick to display them.

Oops - just realised the previous post says much the same.
kenl is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 10-17-2014, 05:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	r56-speed.JPG
Views:	8974
Size:	67.6 KB
ID:	6802  
Angib is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 10-17-2014, 06:36 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
hotrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wheee! View Post
Hi Hotrunner! The cars looks beautiful! I can be semi-helpful. When I picked up my car, I didn't have the digital speedometer either. When my husband was driving the car, using his key fob, suddenly it was there. So it is possible. I don't know how or why, but it was there. When I went back to my key fob, it disappeared again and I haven't figured out how to make it reappear. So the good news is it's possible. I just don't know how! (I have the essentials package).

Congratulations on the new wheels and happy driving!
To answer your question why it works with your husband and not for you.
If you use your key fob independently of your husband's then the car is programmed different for each user as defined by the key fob. So, in this case, it sounds like when your husband uses his fob, you are getting the digital speed display. When you use yours, it is not visible ?... In that case, use your fob, and by using the "bc" button you and scroll through the menus to have this activated and constantly displayed each and evey time you are driving with your fob. I hope this makes sense ?....good luck ...hotrunner
hotrunner is online now  
post #7 of 23 Old 10-17-2014, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Is there a university offering a degree program in the operating of these little beauties? I think I need something to help me keep up! �� Good luck Hotrunner! Is your car moonwalk grey? It's a lovely colour.
Wheee! is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 10-17-2014, 07:48 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
hotrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wheee! View Post
Is there a university offering a degree program in the operating of these little beauties? I think I need something to help me keep up! �� Good luck Hotrunner! Is your car moonwalk grey? It's a lovely colour.
I TOTALLY agree with your statement........"Is there a university offering a degree program in the operating of these little beauties?"......The car is so complex comparing it to 2nd Gen. It truly is a very sophisticated masterpiece. Something that Da Davinci would have created. The ride is amazing. The fit and finish is superb. Sitting is luxurious and very comfortable. The engine is a technological advancement. If I close my eyes, I feel like I am sitting and driving in a BMW. It is the WOW Factor many times over. yes the colour is correct, Moonwalk Grey..thanks.....what color did you get ?
hotrunner is online now  
post #9 of 23 Old 10-17-2014, 08:00 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Garage
Hotrunner,
Angib is correct. There is a button on the end of the turn signal stalk. Every time you push it the display will change to another display. Push it several times until a small mph displays. After about 5 seconds the small digital mph becomes big. It goes away when you are in green mode unless you push the button on the turn signal stalk and scroll through the different displays. I also goes away when you set the cruise control but again, you can push the button on the turn signal stalk and get it back. I hope that helps.
Prowillys is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 10-17-2014, 08:09 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
hotrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prowillys View Post
Hotrunner,
Angib is correct. There is a button on the end of the turn signal stalk. Every time you push it the display will change to another display. Push it several times until a small mph displays. After about 5 seconds the small digital mph becomes big. It goes away when you are in green mode unless you push the button on the turn signal stalk and scroll through the different displays. I also goes away when you set the cruise control but again, you can push the button on the turn signal stalk and get it back. I hope that helps.
Thank you !!!!.....it appears that the "bc" button and current software configuration as set up PDI was done incorrect. At the dealer two people tried and me to engage the "bc" button. All that comes up is the Engine Temp. It will not scroll through any menus for any display setup config. I am aware of what this "bc" button can do because of my prior 2008 car and my current 2013 Coupe. It works there, but not on my 2015. How can I get this car brad new and have this issue. Doesn't anyone check this before delivery ? After all I am paying for PDI to make sure everything is working before delivery, am I not? Back to the dealer it goes.....THANK YOU ALL !!!!
hotrunner is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 2015 Mini Cooper Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



  Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LED Driving Lamps DonDraper MINI F56 General Discussion 12 02-04-2015 04:27 PM
F56 Engine stopped running while driving anyone? Evy MINI F56 General Discussion 51 01-06-2015 02:11 AM
Pre driving fun - drawl while waiting JVondel Purchasing and Ordering 2 09-14-2014 05:57 AM
Driving Assistant olliesgrandad Electronics and Audio 0 09-09-2014 03:28 PM
Standard Cruise Control is excellent - but only works in MPH... !! JJH MINI F56 General Discussion 1 07-07-2014 07:22 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off