User Tag List

9Likes

post #1 of 25 Old 01-07-2015, 06:20 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Engine light on :(

Good morning all,

I've been driving my 2015 Mini for 2 months now and am completely sold on it... What a fantastic drive.
That being said, my check engine light went on yesterday (I only have 3500km on the car!)
When I do all system checks available through the main menu, it tells me everything is fine. The car feels fine - maybe a bit sluggish but I don't know if it's my imagination.
I'll be bringing it in as it's obviously still under warranty, but I'm just wondering if many others have experienced this and what it could be.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 Old 01-07-2015, 08:21 AM
uke

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
If the car is running OK, it's likely either a sensor is getting flaky, or, believe it or not, the GAS CAP is loose.

Double check the gas cap and see if that fixes it.
Sunster, G_Russ and MCSMTL like this.
post #3 of 25 Old 01-07-2015, 09:32 AM Thread Starter

Thanks!

post #4 of 25 Old 01-31-2015, 12:48 PM

What was the issue ultimately? My gf has 4000 miles on a 2-month old mini and had the engine light come on yesterday. I told her to check the gas cap and she did many times, she's not very happy having paid so much and when she called multiple dealers yesterday no one was willing to even see her until next week. With her work and long hours it's very difficult to get her car to a dealer, she starts before they open and leaves after they close.

Anyone else have this happen? Any insight? I've checked the oil, all statuses are OK in the computer, seems to drive great (a little too great!
post #5 of 25 Old 01-31-2015, 12:51 PM

Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Garage