Mini Heads Up Display (HUD) - 2015 Mini Cooper Forum
User Tag List

 15Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 44 Old 04-25-2014, 11:17 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Mini Heads Up Display (HUD)

Hi,


For those of you who are fortunate enough to have already received you cars, are you are to take some photos of the heads up display, with something displayed on the unit.
Also, can anyone confirm what is actually displayed on the unit as standard. IE not running navigation..
Thanks.
dragons1988 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 44 Old 04-25-2014, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Garage
Speed, radio station (scroll down to other stations), music tracks (scroll down to choose different tracks), Navigation brill on the HUD, any warnings displayed, seat belts, doors open etc. cruise control speeds.
Very cool and a must, not just a toy
crobson1969 is offline  
post #3 of 44 Old 04-25-2014, 11:27 AM
Senior Member
 
donnaj1dlh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 1,097
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Garage
I'm not one for gadgets ... thought the HUD was just a gimmick until I test drove the MCS, then I HAD to have it, it's awesome!
donnaj1dlh is offline  
 
post #4 of 44 Old 04-25-2014, 11:27 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Ok that's great news, I've ordered it for my new F56, and was under the impression that all that was displayed would be the current vehicle speed and navigation stuff.. this is fantastic news Thanks.


If its not too much drama I would appreciate if you could upload some pictures of the writing on the display.. although I am not sure how difficult this would be to capture with a camera??


dragons1988 is offline  
post #5 of 44 Old 04-25-2014, 05:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Pintie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wiltshire, England
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
I will try and remember to get my wife to take a photo over the weekend. It is a terrific safety measure. Keeping your eyes where they should be!
dragons1988 likes this.
Pintie is offline  
post #6 of 44 Old 04-25-2014, 06:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
got any pics of it working? or does it not show up on camera?
italianjob is offline  
post #7 of 44 Old 04-25-2014, 06:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
It should show up on camera, i'd imagine that it might be a bit tricky to capture it though. Just need to do it under the right lighting.
MJCW is offline  
post #8 of 44 Old 04-25-2014, 07:00 PM
Senior Member
 
lawrothegreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Winchester, UK
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
If you connect your phone, the heads up display also displays your recent contacts, and you can scroll through them to call. During the day the speed is displayed in white and at night in amber. It is highly recommended as an option - today I started the car and drove off without the HUD enabled and it felt odd, I had to switch it on straight away. At speed it's brilliant to use to keep an eye on what you're doing.


You can also change the height and rotation of the projection to ensure that it works for you.
Pintie, dragons1988 and Escho83 like this.
lawrothegreat is offline  
post #9 of 44 Old 04-28-2014, 09:02 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Is it still worth it if you don't have satnav? Cheers mines gone back to beginning of production due to roof contrast so thinking of adding this on the new one if it is.
Alw23 is offline  
post #10 of 44 Old 04-28-2014, 10:36 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
I could be wrong, but I'm pretty sure you can't order it without the Media Pack XL.
dragons1988 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 2015 Mini Cooper Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



  Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
John Cooper Works concept on display at the Detroit Auto Show DonaldD Mini Cooper News 5 01-15-2014 05:49 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off