Mini Cooper Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
So, I'm a Mini noob. I actually am one week into ownership of a previously owned F56. This morning, he wouldn't turn over.

Ironically, the message that popped up where the odometer reading lives said Battery Discharged, and to start the car. Well, thanks...

My daily commute has been, round trip, 14 miles. This is the first time it's complained. Is there something that is perhaps not turning off when it should? I had noticed the hazard light button stayed illuminated when the car was parked overnight. I thought it was normal for the car to do that.

Thoughts?
馃槗

Registered
Easiest way to check for any issues is to get the car hooked up to a diagnostic computer. Guess it depends how close your nearest dealer with one of those is as to how easy that will be.

Registered
Sorry to hear of your battery woes. I seem to recall from your introduction post that your car is a 2015 model (?) Just wonder therefore whether your battery is the original one and if so whether it is failing/failed.

Back in the day, batteries on their way out would gradually deteriorate over time, with sluggish cranking being the most obvious clue. However, with modern batteries the performance really falls off a cliff when they expire.

As Anonemouse says, a MINI diagnostic check will identify the issue causing your problem. If getting to a dealer is a problem, a reputable aftermarket battery seller should at least be able to check the health of your battery.

Final thing to try would be a good overnight charge if you have a battery charger, just to see whether your issue results from your car sitting on the car lot for an extended period of time.

Good luck in getting it resolved 馃檪

Registered
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the replies. I'll have to jump it to get it to a diagnostic place. To...anywhere, really 馃槀

Also, townhome parking. Putting it on a charger might be problematic.