Mini Cooper Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi there
i thought id add my experience of adding the portable satnav to my mini cooper sd f56

i purchased the official components from mini for the mounting kit, and i got these online at bowker lifestyle, which is a mini/bmw dealer.

there was no way i was going to pay a mini mechanic to fit this, and charge me 200 labor, this looked like
a really easy job, and it was, it took me less than an hour.

Now just to add, im a very experienced diy mechanic, and an electrical/electronics engineer by trade, so if you are thinking of following my example, please take your own experience into consideration.

you need two components to do this,

1 mini click and drive system, navigation base carrier
2: mini click and drive system navigation portable xl holder.
both come to 118.99 including delivery.

to fit.

1: make sure car is switched off.
2: using a torx screwdriver remove the two screws either side of the bottom of the speedo.
the speedo then slides off its metal bracket and using a screwdriver push the clasp and turn to
pull out the plug.
3: line up the unit against the back of the speedo, and you will see what two screws to remove from the back of the speedo, these are just philips.
4: put the unit into place and add the two provided torx screws.
5: cut the cable ties from around the cigar lighter in the center of the lead, pull out the usb plug, and then feed this threw the hole behind the speedo so it drops down around the clutch peddle, for RHD regions.
if you are a LHD region, then do the opposite, and drop it down the side that the accelerator peddle is on.
6: plug the speedo back in, and put its screws back in, and tighten up.
7: take the panel off the side that you drive on from the center console, the screw is up by the clutch or accelerator peddles.