Mini Cooper Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I have a 2017 F56 Justa that came without Mini's greatest option - the third sun visor (above the driver's door). I have two plastic cap-type things where the visor or grip handle should be.

I just bought the original Mini part from the US and, while there, I asked the service rep if it's plug & play so I could install it myself. He said it requires a special tool that all Mini dealers have.

Can anybody confirm this?

I've attached a few pics so you can see what I'm talking about.

TIA

Attachments

·
Registered
49 Posts
Hi, I fitted one last year. I’m just a beginner and I don’t own any special tools; I think I just used a screwdriver. It was fiddly but only took 10 minutes.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
30 Posts
Tools

Hi, we have an F55 and had it retro fitted by the dealer; they use the standard plastic trim removal tool that is used for prizing out the grommets etc.

I didnt like the way it was fitted as the curve protruded towards my head when in the 'up' position; so simply removed it by prizing out the hinges with a flat head screwdriver and then removed the metal spring clip and turned it around so the curve aligns with the roof lining.

Easy to do yourself just take care, sitting on the driver's seat, at 5'11" everything was in easy reach

·
Registered
677 Posts
Hi,

I have a 2017 F56 Justa that came without Mini's greatest option - the third sun visor (above the driver's door). I have two plastic cap-type things where the visor or grip handle should be.

I just bought the original Mini part from the US and, while there, I asked the service rep if it's plug & play so I could install it myself. He said it requires a special tool that all Mini dealers have.

Can anybody confirm this?

I've attached a few pics so you can see what I'm talking about.

TIA
So a screwdriver then? In fairness he wasnt lying.....

·
Super Moderator
6,466 Posts