Mini Cooper Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I have a 2018 F56 JCW, only changes from new are Michelin PS4 tyres and air filter (oh, and some black-out bits). Want to really sort out the handling, hate how the body rolls going into corners and the front end feels like it’s tucking. Does that description make sense?

Does anybody have any experience with addressing this and any recommendations for changes?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
115 Posts
I'm relatively new to all the Mini stuff, but my opinion on what you described is:

Change your front and rear sway bars to improve handling in corners and address understeer - Eibach and NM Engineering make good sets, there are others. I ordered Eibach. Don't forget to change your rear drop links if you do this as they are plastic from factory - NM engineering make drop links that are adjustable in metal.
You'll need to get alignment redone once you fiddle with suspension.

I'd start there and see how you go. Of course, you can also change the suspension shock absorbers and/ or springs. Mini make and sell a kit - JCW Pro which also lowers the car (the height is adjustable) at the same time. Depending on budget you can go for coilovers or alternatively get Eibach / fox adaptive dampers that adjust firmness depending on road conditions.

Some folks talk a lot about strut braces either under bonnet or rear strut towers, but the F56 towers cant be braced from the rear using the inside, and the front strut offers debatable improvement, others will have a their own view.

One thing to be mindful of is having a good handling car that is not too firm, or indeed one that puts too much strain on other suspension parts like bushings, unless you upgrade them too to something like powerflex.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·