Mini Cooper Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Help mini brake noise/and BMW/Mini service centra

My misses picked up her 6 4 plate Mini Cooper S 2.0 Automatic on the first day of registration, and from the very start the brakes made a grinding noise when applied, the noise isn't very loud and is best heard when driving very slowly and gently applying the brakes, the same noise can be heard when braking, normally, or from speed, providing no one is talking and the music is off,
So it's a grinding noise that isn't very loud, and sounds like the noise you get when your pads are worn down to the metal, ( but not as loud)
I told the misses that because it was a showroom car, and had been sitting a while ( hopefully) that the brakes just needed to be used a bit, anyway it's now been 1499 miles and the noise is still there, the misses doesn't notice it, but I'm a retired mechanic, so pick up on things like this real easy,
Anyway we had a discussion and I was going to have a look and probably change the rear pads, as I believe the noise is coming from there, only because, if, when rolling very slowly, I apply the handbrake gently, I can hear the same noise, ( if I apply the handbrake harder the car stops lol )
But we phoned a BMW service centra and booked it in for a check, when we arrived, I took a technician out to the car and reversed, I applied the foot brake and he said he could hear it grinding,
So we left it with them, later that day my misses phones me and says,
" they said they have put it on the machine and tested it like blar blar blar, nothing wrong, but going to keep the car over night as a technician was goner look at it
( long story.... Short ) I phoned them up,