Votes: 10 62.5%
  • Manual

Votes: 6 37.5%

• Total voters
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
It’s got to be auto any day of the week. Day to day driving in traffic is a joy and you arrive fresh, as most days you are in a traffic jam, you can still put it in ‘manual’ and have some fun. ( not as good as an actual manual, for the purists but not far off)

·
Registered
35 Posts
I've been driving Double Clutch 'Autos' since 2013 and currently both our cars, including an F54 S, have them. I'd say for day to day use, they are difficult to beat?

That said, I've been using my Daughters A1 Tdi manual of late and have been shocked at just how enjoyable, rowing a "stick shift' again has proven to be?

With a car like the JCW, if I was buying it purely as a toy, I would opt for a manual. If it was a day-to-day runabout, I'd go automatic.

On a reread, this post is of no use whatsoever, so good luck with your choice!

·
Registered
80 Posts
Manual. After 30 years of driving manual sports cars, I AM an automatic transmission 😂

Auto is fun in a video game sort of way but much like video games, I get bored with the lack of physical engagement.

·
Registered
214 Posts
Both transmissions are an excellent choice. I have the auto JCW six-speed, and it is one of the best I have driven. Coupled with the JCW powerplant it works a treat. Now, as involvement goes, you can't argue with the manual transmission because you have no choice, but to get involved - foot on clutch and hand changing gears!

If we were having this discussion say 10 years ago, I would say manual, but today's automatics are near perfect and the response times via the paddles are very fast.

It's funny because, when I drive the Mrs manual car, I kinda miss the auto, and when I drive my auto, I think occasionally, wish I had the manual.