Mini Cooper Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am quite new to the whole car scene so I don't know much of the vocabulary but, I will try my best to explain my situation.
I am 18 years old, I wasn't able to be insured on a REAL JCW so I went for the latest MINI One and applied a JCW kit on it so basically the exterior and interior look 90% like a JCW F56 2015-2016.
As my MINI is only a 1.2 litre engine (I know it sucks, but when I configured, I really didn't know anything about cars, only knew about the appearance) and I have a singular exhaust, which I'm considering to transfer to a dual exhaust, I know what you are thinking, but it's possible, I would be applying the MINI Cooper S F56 exhaust to it. BUT now this is where I need help really. Let me break it down into two part questions.
1. As I will need to have a 50ml to 60ml adapter (reducer/increaser) for the new exhaust (otherwise it wouldn't fit) would that mean not being able to modify that in any way, like, I want to have that sporty sound to it like the natural popping sounds that JCW's have. So I'm wondering if like this thing called de-cat? Will work after I have fitted the new exhaust? Apparently it has a nice sound, I don't want it too loud as I live in the UK. Ultimately I'm just looking to find out if I can make my car sound like a JCW with the new exhaust and if the 1.2 litre engine will affect that.
2. If I were just to use the stock cooper S exhaust and not add anything to it like the de-cat (if that's even possible) would I be able to get that noise I'm looking for? If I need my engine to be faster, would chip tuning work? I'm just looking for the best possible way to go about this before I actually buy the things I'm planning on buying.