Mini Cooper Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I am relatively new to the whole car cleaning world. I used to use a car wash service in the past usually. I'm not quite looking at getting into the whole detailing... at least not just yet. I've got a Mini that has a little over 500 miles on it, and I wanted to do just a basic interior exterior clean. I've looked at Donna's post, and it seems a little overkill for what I was thinking.

A couple of questions.

What do most people clean on a regular basis?
How often?

I would assume something like the detailing would only be done maybe once a year?

Thanks all!

·
Registered
998 Posts
i /try/ to give the car a wash every couple of weeks, weather permitting. this will be a shampoo, dry & maybe a spray as i dry with a quick detail spray which brings the wax shine back up. Anything more than that will be every 2-3 months where i would re-wax/seal the paint after washing & drying. the interior will get a vaccuum, dust & wipe down most of the time when i wash.

one word of advice i would give; if you don't have the time or the weather to do a decent job, leave it until you do. Better to leave a bit of harmless dirt on the paint than potentially scratch it by rushing

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hat,
Thanks! I am in Georgia so weather is rarely an issue. Any suggestions on products for a basic run like you are talking about? Vacuum suggestions? I have 3 house vacuums, but that's not necessarily ideal.

·
Registered
95 Posts
The dealer gave me two different wash kits with car wash and interior cleaner. Havent tried either yet.

·
Registered
998 Posts
I use an old house dyson to vaccuum. The battery or 12v car vacs never have the suction power necessary.