Mini Cooper Forum banner
1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know the steering weight goes up and the throttle response quickens as well. What else changes? I'm on day two of ownership and still learning...

·
Premium Member
126 Posts
I'm no expert on the tech side, but the settings show Drivetrain and/or Chassis can be engaged in Sport Mode.

As I understand it, the Chassis option is only available if you have at least the Dynamic Damper Control option.

JP

·
Super Moderator
7,820 Posts
Yes there's an exhaust valve too but actually I thinks that's all the ther e is to it unless anyone else knows differently.

·
Registered
1,176 Posts
Does the stereo add in fake engine sound like its BMW brethren?
Yes. There's supposedly a dedicated speaker on the left rear interior wall.

Not sure I would call it "fake" engine sounds. Synthesized, perhaps, but the sounds are designed to restore sounds from the engine that contribute to driver pleasure but are suppressed by the sound-deadening or otherwise messed up by the dynamics of the structure.

They are just putting back what the structure took away.

·
Super Moderator
7,820 Posts
Yes on the Cooper s but not on the Cooper I think.

·
Registered
307 Posts
Yes. There's supposedly a dedicated speaker on the left rear interior wall.

Not sure I would call it "fake" engine sounds. Synthesized, perhaps, but the sounds are designed to restore sounds from the engine that contribute to driver pleasure but are suppressed by the sound-deadening or otherwise messed up by the dynamics of the structure.

They are just putting back what the structure took away.
The rear speaker for added engine noise is a mith..
Steering feel changes, albeit it's too light for my liking.
Throttle response is better.
ECU tells injectors to add fuel on the overrun, hence the pops :D

·
Registered
9 Posts