Mini Cooper Forum banner

Does Start / Stop increase engine wear with negligible fuel savings?

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I thought start stop was cool but in winter I thought it was very likely going to cause extra wear as the car barely warms up fully on a short commute.

I read that unless you stop for a minute or more you barely save any fuel anyway.

Also once the car does warm up fully the cooling circulation systems and oil pump shut down when the car stops - which may not be good as parts of the engine overheat and more wear occurs on start before oil pressure and circulation kicks in to lubricate everything.

Finally the starter motor must work much harder over the vehicle life which obviously will reduce its life span assuming that each cycle will cause wear.

So what is the consensus - I am no mechanic - what do experts think?

·
Super Moderator
8,822 Posts
Supposedly the starter motor and battery are uprated. 45k miles in my Cooper s and it was still perfect but.........I do think the savings are marginal unless you're stopping for over 30s. I too heard 1 minutes but that was years ago.. I wonder if anyone has researched this?

·
Registered
179 Posts
I always switch the feature off as soon as I start the car.
Unless you are in heavy town traffic, I think it's just a waste of time and a gimmick.

It only stops the car for a couple of minutes anyway and it will then restart the engine, so no use at all if you are stuck at a level crossing (railway crossing), and thats the time when you really need it....

I also find if you are in a long traffic queue the people will tend to keep creeping forward bit by bit so you have to keep starting the engine to move forward all the time, and if you only move forward a few feet the engine won't switch off again.

All rather pointless IMO on my daily commute!

·
Registered
1,654 Posts
If I select green mode on my JCW it will start/stop before the engine is fully warmed up.