Mini Cooper Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry to ask this but I am not too good with cars.

A message appeared telling me to add 1L of oil.

The manual states several different types of oil.

When I put my reg into a site like Halfords or Opie Oils it suggests different types of oil.

How do I know what is currently in the engine, as I have heard you are not supposed to mix different oils?

Many thanks.

·
Registered
2019 JCW Hatch
33 Posts
You need a low / mid saps oil like those specified in the handbook as your car has a GPF. A 0W30 with BMW LL04 or LL12FE approval will work - these will typically be in the ACEA C3 / C2 category. You can also use a 0W20 LL17 but they are harder to find.

There is no way of knowing exactly what the factory fill is. I commissioned a used oil analysis on mine and it was very thin with viscosities in the 0W20 range.

There is no issue mixing oils; it wont turn to porridge.

·
Registered
78 Posts
You need a low / mid saps oil like those specified in the handbook as your car has a GPF. A 0W30 with BMW LL04 or LL12FE approval will work - these will typically be in the ACEA C3 / C2 category. You can also use a 0W20 LL17 but they are harder to find.

There is no way of knowing exactly what the factory fill is. I commissioned a used oil analysis on mine and it was very thin with viscosities in the 0W20 range.

There is no issue mixing oils; it wont turn to porridge.
i found almost
All oil 0w-30 is c2/c3.

c3 is best.
Avoid Castrol magnatec it’s snake oil.
Shell and mini oil so far so good did 30,000 km without using a drop before I changed it

·
Super Moderator
6,961 Posts
I think they now factory fill with Shell but viscocity mmmmm. As above 0w30or 5w30acea c3LLo4 is the way to go. And it isn't a silly question ,it is a total minefield. Just buy decent quality . I just got Petronus LLO4 aceac3and dexos rated too, 5w40 5l for £26.

·
Registered
78 Posts