Mini Cooper Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
386 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am very familiar with journalist complaints about Mini's harsh ride, cramped interior, etc. Having recently driven a JCW with sports suspension and 18" wheels, I was very impressed with ride quality (stiff but controlled), performance and overall quality. I also have a 2009 Clubman S so my opinion is not limited to that test drive.

This week, I have been fortunate enough to have rented a 2016 Camaro with the 275 HP 4 cyl Turbo and 8-speed automatic. According to the pundits, this is a much better buy than the MCS or JCW, handles better, is faster, etc. I am not an expert after almost 300 miles, but first impressions are important and I certainly do not agree.

Steering and handling are excellent. Ride is firm on good roads, but among the worst I have ever experienced on rough roads. It is very harsh over bumps, even at very low speeds ... I could feel my luggage bounce going over speed bumps. Minis are stiff, but never this harsh in my experience. Visibility is awful ... not bad, but truly awful. Seats are good ... no issues there. I think the transmission is good, but could never find a setting that was fun ... even in Sports mode shifting seemed to have a mind of its own and it was never where I wanted it to be. And BTW ... it has a rear view camera standard. That is good; however, the resolution and the guidelines are awful ... the resolution on the Mini camera is in a totally different class. Interior space is awful and fit and finish is spotty at best.