Mini Cooper Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
506 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I have been using Halfords £5 for 5 lt screen wash for the last 7 years in my Nissan, Vauxhall, Fiat, Audi, Skoda and my current MINI and BMW.

Recently, on the BMW forum some one had mentioned that specially with MINIs and BMWs if you dont use their screen washer then you have a major risk of blocking the pump and pipes which is something not covered under warranty and could cost around £100 to fix.

So far I haven't blocked anything and everything is working as good as new however now I am a bit scared of using the same washer.

Can you please share if you are using BMW's washer?

Saurabh

·
Registered
154 Posts
I do use the screen wash from Mini. They do a 100:1 concentrate which make 5-7 litres for about £1.60 a bottle but does not contain an antifreeze, in the winter I top up with the normal screen wash in 1 litre bottles. On the plus side I have probably only used about 10 litres of mixed wash in 20 months and 37K miles. I have coated my windscreen with Getechniq G1 which help a lot.

·
Registered
478 Posts
For many years it's been know that mixing different brand of screen wash can result in a jelly like substance forming in the washer bottle, which will eventually lead to blockages.

I can see why BMW/MINI won't pay for this blockage to be removed.

VAG stipulate this in their owners handbooks, owner must use the VAG screen wash or the Fan Jet washers may block. Therefore I have kept the receipts for when I purchase genuine screen wash, and never had a problem with years of VAG motoring.

I use MINI branded screen wash in my MINI because my roof is white, and the MINI stuff is clear, but I see on reason why any brand couldn't be used, providing you don't mix them, i.e. make sure it's empty before you switch brands, then flush the new stuff through for a bit to ensure all the old stuff is out of the pipes and don't forget the rear washer. Problem solved.

Or